Inspiring Future, Grand Challenge


About the College

  • home
  • About the College
  • History


Sungkyunkwan University

Sungkyunkwan University
1398 The foundation of the first national education institute in Korea: Sungkyunkwan
1895 Sungkyunkwan converted to a modern four-year university
1953 The university is promoted to a comprehensity
1978 The Natural Sciences Campus is opened
1996 The Samsung Group joined the University Foundation
1998 600th Anniversary
1999 The Medical Building is constructed
2000 The 600th Anniversary Building is constructed
2001 The Research Plaza is constructed
2002 The Electronic Microscope Complex is constructed
2003 The inauguration of the 18th President : Dr. Jung-Don Seo
2004 The Law Building is constructed
2004 The International House is constructed
2008 Samsung Library is Constructed
2009 International Hall is Constructed
2011 The inauguration of the 19th President: Dr. Jun Young Kim



College of Sport Science

College of Sport Science History
1969 Department of Physical Education is established
1972 Renamed as Department of Physical Education in the newly established College of Education
1987 The department changed its name to the College of Sport Science
1997 Renamed as Department of Sport Science in College of Sport Science
1998 Changed College of Sport Science to Division of Sport Science
2006 1 project-team is selected as 2rd Brain Korea 21 Program
  • HRD Team for International Sport Diplomacy and Administration Specialist
2012 Changed Division of Sport Science to College of Sport Science
2013 1 project-team is selected as 3rd Brain Korea 21+ Program
  • Sport Science Specialists for Realization of Wellness Society
2014 Selected as focused-institute of university
2017 Signed MOU for Sport Management MS Dual Degree at SKKU and University of Florida